Canada Post announces recipients of the 2018 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards

Since 2004, more than 300 winners have been recognized.

Posted on May 01, 2019 by Canada Post in News Releases

OTTAWA – Canada Post is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards. The awards recognize the commitment made by Canadians of Indigenous heritage who have chosen to return to school after an absence from formal education. Since 2004, the awards have recognized more than 300 people from across the country.

Recipients of this year’s awards are:

  • British Columbia: Tyler Dixon, Amanda Street
  • Alberta: Tracy Atkin, Sarah Auger, Cole Bellerose, Nicole Eshkakogan, Sarah Plante, Chase Soosay, Shane Sweet Grass
  • Saskatchewan: Stevie Bird, Blaine Primeau
  • Manitoba: Adelaide Duncan, Justin Head
  • Ontario: Kimberley Edwards, Nikkutai Folger, Kristen Gauthier, Delores Maas, Doriesha States
  • Quebec: Belinda Chilton, Allyson Dill, Christine Philippe
  • New Brunswick: Krista Cabel, Shelby Wilkins
  • Nunavut: Alanna Copland
  • Yukon: Jayla Rousseau-Thomas

Effective May 2019, the awards program has been renamed the Canada Post Awards for Indigenous Students. The awards will be open to all Indigenous Canadian students who have resumed studies and completed at least one full year of study after being away from school for at least 12 months. Applicants are required to submit an essay outlining the obstacles and challenges they have overcome in pursuit of further education. Each year, up to 25 winners across the country are awarded a $1,000 prize.

Full qualification details are available online at

For more information:
Media Relations, 613-734-8888