CUPW expands strikes in Ontario and Quebec, continues job action in Alberta

Posted on Nov. 06, 2018 by Canada Post in Customer Alerts

The Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW) began strike action in Newmarket, Sarnia, Amherstburg, Delhi, St. Thomas and Owen Sound, Ont. and in Abitibi and Hautes-Laurentides, Quebec. CUPW is also continuing strikes in other areas of Ontario and Quebec, and in Alberta. Strikes have ended in Simcoe, St. Catharines, Welland, Guelph, Fort Erie and Brantford, Ontario.

Here is a list of communities where CUPW is currently conducting strikes:

In Alberta: Calgary, Edmonton, Medicine Hat, Lethbridge; St-Albert, Sherwood Park; Springdale, Botwood; High River, Okotoks, Strathmore, Airdrie, Cochrane, Three Hills, Delburne, Elnora, Huxley, Cremona, Carstairs, Acme, Trochu, Lousana, Drumheller, Standard, Hann, Oyen, Craigmyle, Endiang, Byemoor, Black Diamond, Priddis, Cayley, Millarville, Turner Valley, Dewinton, Nanton, Milo, Blackie, Bragg Creek, Coronation, Camrose, Winfield, Thorsby; Brooks, Vauxhall, Blairmore, Cardston, Magrath, Picture butte,Coutts, Bow island, Stirling, Foremost, Pincher creek, Coaldale, Tim, Taber; Wainwright, Vegreville, Fort Saskatchewan, Wetaskiwin, Nisku, Spruce Grove, Whitecourt, Westlock, Morinville, Bashaw, Tofield, Viking, Legal, Athabasca, Vermillion.

In Ontario: Scarborough delivery facilities, including the York Distribution Centre which processes parcels for the east portion of the Greater Toronto Area; Pickering, Sarnia, Amherstburg, Delhi, St. Thomas, Owen Sound; Barrie; Ridgeway, Stevensville, Fonthill, Wainfleet, Niagara on the Lake, Port colborne, Thorold, Jordan, Station, Wellandport, Smithville, Lynden, Beamsville; London, Arthur; Ajax, Markham, Unionville, Richmond Hill, Stouffville, Thornhill, Whitby, Willowdale, Don Mills, Maple, Vaughan.

In Quebec: Hautes-Laurentides: Mont-Laurier, Mont-Tremblant, Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, Ferme-Neuve, Grand-Remous, Lac-des-Écorces, Lac-des-Îles, Nominingue, Sainte-Véronique, Sainte-Anne-de-Sabrevois, Notre-Dame-de-Laus, Huberdeau, La Macaza, Labelle, Rivière-Rouge, Saint-Adolphe-d’Howard, Saint-Donat-de Montcalm, Saint-Faustin-Lac-Carré, Saint-Rémi-d’Amherst, Val-Morin; Mont-Joli, Amqui, Baie-des-Sables, Causapscal, Lac-Humqui, Métis-sur-Mer, Price, Sainte-Angèle-de-Mérici, Sainte-Jeanne-de-Matane, Saint-Léon-le-Grand, Saint-Moïse, Saint-Octave, Sayabec, Val-Brillant; Saguenay Lac St-Jean: Saint-Honoré-de-Chicoutimi, Chicoutimi, Jonquière, Alma, Baie St-Paul, Tadoussac, Grandes-Bergeronnes, La Malbaie, Sacré-Coeur-Saguenay, Larouche, L'ascension-de-Notre-Seigneur, Saint-Bruno-Lac-Saint-Jean, Saint-Gédéon, Saint-Nazaire-du-Lac-St-Jean, Hébertville, Les Éboulements, Laterrière, Petit-Saguenay, Saint-Félix-d’Otis, Falardeau.

Since October 22, CUPW’s rotating strikes have now shut down Canada Post operations in more than 100 communities across the country.

Canada Post has been working hard to minimize the service impact to Canadians, but the union’s escalating strikes continue to cause backlogs in our national, integrated delivery network. As a result, customers could see delays of several days. 

Mail and parcels will not be delivered or picked up in impacted areas while the union continues their strike activity. We thank our customers for their continued patience and apologize for the inconvenience this is causing.

For Customer Service or other inquiries, please click here.

Get email updates

Sign up