What is the Canada Post holiday schedule?

Canada Post is closed on national, provincial and territorial holidays, with no collection or delivery of mail on those days.* However, post offices operated by the private sector will be open according to the hours of service of the host business.

*Regular collection and delivery of mail occurs on provincial Family Day holidays, Louis Riel Day (Man.) and Islander Day (P.E.I.).

Official holiday schedule


New Year's Day (National)

Jan. 1

Jan. 2

Good Friday (National)

March 25

April 14

Easter Monday (National)

March 28

April 17

Victoria Day (National)

May 23

May 22

Patriots' National Day (Québec only)

May 23

May 22

Québec's National Holiday (Québec only)

June 24

June 26

Canada Day (National)

July 1

July 3

Civic Holiday (Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Newfoundland & Labrador)

Aug. 1

Aug. 7

Natal Day (Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia)

Aug. 1

Aug. 7

New Brunswick Day (New Brunswick)

Aug. 1

Aug. 7

British Columbia Day (British Columbia)

Aug. 1

Aug. 7

Heritage Day (Alberta)

Aug. 1

Aug. 7

Discovery Day (Yukon)

Aug. 15

Aug. 21

Labour Day (National)

Sept. 5

Sept. 4

Thanksgiving Day (National)

Oct. 10

Oct. 9

Remembrance Day (National)

Nov. 11

Nov. 13

Christmas Day (National)

Dec. 25

Dec. 25

Boxing Day (National)

Dec. 26

Dec. 26

* When a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, it may be applied to the next business day. As such, post offices will be closed, and there will be no collection or delivery of mail.