What is a letter of authorization?

A letter of authorization is a document that allows you to act on behalf of another person, business, or organization to pick up mail or apply for postal services. You can get a copy at your local post office, or you can get one online.

A letter of authorization includes the printed name and signature of the addressee (an individual, organization or business), along with a list of name(s) and signature(s) of anyone authorized to act on their behalf.

How to use a letter of authorization

When you have a letter of authorization, signed by the individual granting authority, bring it with you to the post office along with government-issued photo ID to confirm your identity. As the individual submitting the letter of authorization to the post office, you will be required to sign the letter in the presence of a Canada Post employee or retail postal clerk.

Note: Items shipped with the Proof of Identity service can’t be delivered to anyone other than the addressee. Even if the representative has a letter of authorization or other legal documents, only the intended recipient can accept the item.

View the postal guide for more information about the letter of authorization.

Qu’est-ce qu’une lettre d’autorisation?

A Une lettre d’autorisation est un document qui vous permet de ramasser le courrier ou de demander des services postaux au nom de quelqu’un d’autre. Vous pouvez obtenir un formulaire de demande à votre bureau de poste local ou en ligne.

Une lettre d’autorisation doit inclure le nom en caractères d’imprimerie et la signature du destinataire (personne, organisation ou entreprise), ainsi qu’une liste contenant le nom et la signature des personnes autorisées à agir en son nom.

Comment utiliser une lettre d’autorisation

Si vous avez une lettre d’autorisation signée par le destinataire, apportez-la avec vous au bureau de poste avec une carte d’identité avec photo délivrée par un gouvernement afin de confirmer votre identité. En tant que personne qui soumet la lettre d’autorisation au bureau de poste, vous devrez signer la lettre en présence d’un commis des postes.

Remarque : Les articles expédiés avec l’option Preuve d’identité peuvent être livrés seulement au destinataire. Même si le représentant peut présenter une lettre d’autorisation ou un autre document juridique, seul le destinataire peut accepter l’article.

Pour en savoir plus sur la lettre d’autorisation, consultez le Guide des postes.