Financial Reports

Annual Report


The Canada Post segment is reporting a 2017 profit before tax of $74 million, largely due to unprecedented growth in its parcels business. Most of the Parcels revenue growth of $393 million was from domestic shipments, which speaks to the important role Canada Post plays delivering for online shoppers and retailers across the country.

In 2017, for the first time, the Canada Post segment exceeded $2 billion in Parcels revenue. It has grown annual Parcels revenue by over $900 million since 2011, the year the Corporation pivoted to focus on e‑commerce. By adapting to the evolving needs of Canadians, who use the postal service less for mail and more for e‑commerce delivery, Canada Post became and remains the country’s No.1 parcel company.

The decline of Lettermail remains a significant challenge. Canadians mailed two billion (41 per cent) fewer pieces of Domestic Lettermail in 2017 than they did in 2006, the year that mail volumes peaked.

Rapports financiers

Rapport annuel


Le secteur Postes Canada a enregistré un profit avant impôt de 74 millions de dollars en 2017, lequel est surtout attribuable à la croissance sans précédent de son secteur Colis. L’augmentation de 393 millions de dollars des revenus du secteur Colis provient en majeure partie des envois du régime intérieur, ce qui témoigne du rôle important que joue le service de livraison de Postes Canada dans le cybercommerce partout au pays.

En 2017, pour la première fois, les revenus des Colis du secteur Postes Canada ont dépassé deux milliards de dollars. Les revenus annuels du secteur Colis ont augmenté de plus de 900 millions de dollars depuis 2011, année où la Société a pris un virage pour se concentrer sur le commerce électronique. En s’adaptant aux besoins changeants des Canadiens, qui utilisent davantage le service postal pour la livraison d’articles achetés en ligne que pour le courrier, Postes Canada est devenue et demeure le no 1 des colis au pays.

Le déclin du courrier Poste-lettres demeure un défi considérable. En 2017, les Canadiens ont expédié deux milliards (41 %) d’articles Poste-lettres du régime intérieur de moins qu’en 2006, année où ces volumes ont culminé.