Leverage your promotional, website and shipping strategies to win more holiday sales.

The holiday season can be one of the most profitable times of the year for your business, but it can also be difficult to navigate. Shoppers are on the hunt for the best deals and competition is fierce. With so many enticing promotions everywhere you look, it can be challenging to stand out. Since 2013, Canada Post has been monitoring the biggest e-commerce merchants in Canada during the holidays to evaluate how promotional activities impact e-commerce volumes.

If you want to break through the noise with a winning strategy this holiday season, here are 3 tips that will help.

Tip #1: Extend the season with impactful offers

By stretching your seasonal promotions, and offering site-wide sales, you can tap into the full potential of the holiday season. Try offering a mix of extended promotions and site wide sales to really drive sales.

Extended promotions

Year after year, more merchants are extending the holiday season by offering pre-holiday and post-holiday deals. This helps merchants manage peak order volumes, and garner more sales throughout the season. For instance, merchants frequently extend product sales on the days leading up to Black Friday, and leverage the period before boxing week, by offering sales meant to appeal to last minute holiday shoppers.

Merchants also tend to extend shipping promotions during this time, offering hurried customers free and fast shipping. They're wise to do so because enticing shipping promotions encourage customers to make purchases and lead to spikes in sales.

When it comes to which shipping promotions to offer, you have options. Some merchants offer free shipping across all orders, while others offer it with a minimum purchase, or on specific items only.

Offering free shipping throughout the holidays may not be financially feasible for all merchants, but a strategic mix of shipping promotions can satisfy customer expectations without breaking the bank. For instance, a merchant may only offer free shipping on peak sales days, such as Black Friday and Cyber Monday, to compete with other businesses in their space.

Dabble in site-wide sales

The biggest sale you can offer your customers is a site-wide sale. In recent years, more merchants have gotten on board with the trend. Last holiday season, site-wide promotions more than doubled compared to the previous year – with fashion and Health and Beauty merchants being the most likely to offer them.

Hosting a site-wide sale may inspire your customers to try something new, buy more items than they would otherwise, and purchase products that they haven't purchased from your site before. Be sure to review your product mix to determine if a site-wide sale is suitable for your business and that you have enough inventory to pull it off.

Tip #2: Showcase clear policies and deadlines on your website

It's important to have a strong shipping and returns policy in place for your business year round, but it's especially critical during the holiday season. Consumers want to see your store's shipping deadlines front and centre on your website to ensure that they will receive their orders on time.

Your returns policy should be easy to find on your website, and easy to understand. Shoppers will want to see it during the pre-purchase stage, so make sure they can find it without difficulty. Many of the purchases made during the holidays are gifts, and shoppers want to know if they are easily returnable in case they are the wrong fit, didn't meet their expectations, etc.

Tip #3: Choose the right partners, and leverage their support

Having support and guidance from your ecommerce partners is particularly important during the holiday season. It's critical to work with partners that understand your business needs, and can help you succeed.

The right web partner

Ensure that your ecommerce platform partner can integrate with your fulfilment operations. You will need to optimize your website for this purpose well in advance of the holiday season in order to manage a spike in sales. Everything should be set up and operational by November at the latest. If your business is growing, ensure that you have a powerful and scalable order management system in place so you can fulfill your orders quickly.

The right delivery partner

You need to have a strong relationship with a trusted delivery partner. They will help you get your products into the hands of customers when it matters most. You should also make sure that your ecommerce platform enables seamless integration between your online store and delivery carrier to facilitate efficient label printing.

Opt for a delivery partner with a vast delivery network, and a strong physical store network. With that in place, you can offer your customers a convenient mix of delivery and pick up options that will keep them coming back for more. Most Canadian online shoppers want free shipping, and are willing to wait for it; others want their orders shipped ASAP and are willing to pay for the rush; and some prefer to order online and pickup in store. The right delivery partner will make them all happy.

With heightened customer expectations and tougher competition during the holiday season, your business really has to strive to thrive. By developing a strong promotional mix, strengthening your online communications, and relying on the right partners, you will be well on your way to winning more sales and achieving your business objectives this holiday season.

Download our Holiday Success Guide for insights and tips to help you ace the holiday season.

Get Holiday Guide

Want to optimize your business?

Our end-to-end solutions drive business efficiency and satisfy customers.

Contact an expert
  • Related Links

Marketing, site Web et offres de livraison : comment vendre plus aux Fêtes

Pour bien des détaillants, la période des Fêtes peut être l'une des plus lucratives, mais aussi celle qui apporte le plus de défis. Les consommateurs veulent dénicher les meilleures offres, et la concurrence est vive. Alors, comment faire pour se démarquer? Depuis 2013, Postes Canada suit de près les activités commerciales des principaux détaillants en ligne du pays pour mesurer l'effet de leurs stratégies promotionnelles sur les volumes de colis à livrer durant la période des Fêtes.

Vous voulez prendre les devants durant les Fêtes? Voici 3 conseils qui vous aideront à établir un plan d'action gagnant.

1 – Allonger la période avec des présoldes attrayants

Organiser des présoldes, avec des rabais sur l'ensemble de vos produits, vous permettra de faire mousser vos ventes et de mettre la main sur une part appréciable du portefeuille de dépenses des Fêtes.

Plus de jours de soldes

Sous l'initiative des commerçants, la période commerciale des Fêtes se prolonge d'année en année. Répartir le volume des ventes est un moyen de mieux gérer la hausse considérable qui s'observe aux Fêtes, sans sacrifier sa part du gâteau. Par exemple, de nombreux commerçants organisent des soldes dans les jours précédant le Vendredi fou et avant l'Après-Noël, en ce cas pour attirer les acheteurs de dernière minute.

Les commerçants en profitent aussi pour jumeler ces soldes avec des offres de livraison gratuite, ou exprès pour plaire aux acheteurs pressés. Cela est judicieux, parce que nos observations montrent que de telles offres incitent les clients à acheter et propulsent les ventes.

Des types d'offres de livraison, il en existe plusieurs. Certains commerçants offrent la livraison gratuite pour toutes les commandes, tandis que d'autres la proposent moyennant un achat minimal ou pour certains articles seulement.

Offrir la livraison gratuite durant toutes les Fêtes n'est peut-être pas une option réaliste pour tous les commerçants, mais user de stratégie en jumelant différentes offres pourrait vous aider à satisfaire les clients sans vous ruiner. Pourquoi ne pas proposer la livraison gratuite les jours de grands soldes, comme le Vendredi fou et le Cyberlundi, pour tenir tête à vos concurrents?

Soldes dans l'ensemble du site

Un solde général en ligne est la meilleure offre que vous pouvez faire à vos clients. D'ailleurs, de plus en plus de commerçants optent pour cette pratique. L'an dernier aux Fêtes, le nombre de mégasoldes a plus que doublé par rapport à la même période de 2016. Les détaillants des secteurs de la mode et des produits de beauté et de santé y sont les plus enclins.

En lançant un solde général, vous pourriez inciter vos clients à essayer de nouveaux produits et à acheter davantage. Mais d'abord, passez en revue vos produits et vos quotas de vente pour savoir si cette tactique serait profitable et si vos stocks le permettent.

2 – Afficher clairement politiques et dates limites sur votre site Web

Avoir une bonne politique de livraison et de retour d'article est important, surtout à l'occasion des Fêtes. Ces politiques doivent d'ailleurs être bien visibles sur votre site Web. Même chose pour les dates limites importantes. Les clients veulent savoir si leurs cadeaux arriveront à temps pour Noël.

Les acheteurs veulent connaître la politique de retour des commerçants avant de conclure un achat en ligne. Celle-ci doit donc être facile à trouver... et à comprendre. Tenez compte que beaucoup de clients achèteront des articles pour les offrir, ils veulent donc avoir l'assurance que ces cadeaux pourront être retournés sans tracas.

3 – Choisir les bons partenaires et tirer parti de leur soutien

Pouvoir compter sur le savoir et le soutien de partenaires qui comprennent bien vos besoins est particulièrement important pendant la période des Fêtes. C'est ce qui vous aidera entre autres à réussir.

Le bon partenaire Web

Assurez-vous que votre fournisseur de plateforme de vente en ligne peut y intégrer tout ce dont vous aurez besoin pour exécuter les commandes. Pour pouvoir gérer les ventes accrues, vous devrez optimiser votre site Web bien avant les Fêtes. Veillez à ce que tout soit au point et opérationnel au plus tard en novembre. Si votre entreprise est en pleine croissance, mettez en place un système de gestion des commandes fiable et évolutif afin de pouvoir traiter les commandes rapidement.

Le bon partenaire de livraison

Avoir une relation solide avec un transporteur de confiance est essentiel durant les Fêtes. Parce qu'après tout, c'est lui qui livrera vos produits à vos clients en cette période où le temps presse. Assurez-vous aussi que les outils électroniques de votre transporteur peuvent être efficacement intégrés à votre plateforme de vente en ligne pour faciliter l'impression des étiquettes d'expédition.

Choisissez un transporteur qui dispose d'un vaste réseau de livraison et de plusieurs points de service. Ainsi, vous pourrez offrir à vos clients des options de livraison et de ramassage pratiques, ce qui contribuera à les fidéliser. La plupart des acheteurs en ligne canadiens veulent que la livraison soit gratuite et ils sont prêts à attendre un peu plus longtemps pour recevoir leur commande. D'autres veulent la recevoir le plus rapidement possible et n'hésiteraient pas à payer ce qu'il faut pour une livraison exprès. Enfin, certains préfèrent ramasser leur achat à un point de service. Trouvez le partenaire de livraison qui saura satisfaire tous ces acheteurs.

Les attentes des acheteurs étant de plus en plus élevées, et la concurrence de plus en plus vive, vous devez mettre toutes les chances de votre côté pour prospérer. En proposant des offres alléchantes, en rendant les renseignements importants facilement accessibles sur votre site Web et en faisant appel aux bons partenaires, vous aurez tout ce qu'il faut pour vous accaparer une belle part du marché et atteindre vos objectifs de ventes des Fêtes.

Téléchargez notre Guide de réussite des Fêtes pour obtenir conseils et renseignements précieux.

Obtenir le Guide

Vous voulez hausser vos résultats?

Découvrez notre gamme de solutions pour accroître votre efficacité et la satisfaction des clients.

Parler à un expert
  • Liens connexes